Round 6 Hampton Downs Sunday 11th April 2021

Unfortunately I cannot report another gloriously sunny day for a race meeting however the weather ultimately turned out ok much better than the very wet day before. NMC were unfortunate as we were first up and although it was not raining the track was very damp.
Again we had a modest number of entries and so were combined this time with Racing Saloons we did have a couple of extra cars with John Penny driving the Hopper Army Camaro and Michael Bristow driving Cam Crawford’s 1969 Mercury Cyclone.

Qualifying went well although slowly due to the conditions with Michael Bristow fastest of the NMC cars followed by Tony Galbraith in the Charger and then John Penny in the Camaro.
Class B / Invitation was led by Craig Hyland in his 4 door Monaro and then Andrew Ross in the Pinepac replica Falcon and then Chris Anderson in his JPS Mustang.

Race 1 Started with a shower of rain on the warm up lap and with most if not all cars on Hankooks this lead to some interesting lines however in Class A it was Michael in the Cyclone that handled the conditions the best followed by Steve Doughty in his Camaro and then Tony Galbraith. In Class B the finishing order was the same as qualifying with Craig first followed by Andrew and then Chris.

Race 2, our first handicap race was started without Colin as the big Corvette was found to have engine issues the race itself was abbreviated due to Tony having a little spin on the exit of turn 3 and parking the Charger gently in the sand, this meant that the Class B Invitation cars were the winners overall with Andrew first followed by Paul and Chris.

Race 3 was our final race and another handicap, but this time Tony had things well under control and lead the field home followed by John Penny and then Michael Bristow, in Class B Chris was first and then Andrew and Craig.

Special thanks to Tony would put on a BBQ after the event.

The current positions are

Class A: 1st Steve Doughty, 2nd Tony Galbraith, 3rd Colin Schischka.
Class B: 1st Chris Anderson, 2nd Andrew Ross, 3rd Vince Douglas.

Posted: Mon 26 Apr 2021