Round 5 Pukekohe Park Raceway Sunday 1st March 2020

Round 5 Pukekohe Park Raceway Sunday 1st March 2020

Another fine race day, it has been dry so long now I sure most drivers will have forgotten about wet race meetings.
We had a modest number of entries including guest Shane Wigston (who was after a sub 60 second lap on the real Pukekohe circuit). For this meeting we were combined with the racing saloons which gave an initial field of 20 cars for qualifying but unfortunately it was soon whittled down although we did gain Tony Galbraith as he was a late arrival flying in from Christchurch on the day. Special mention must be made of Chris Anderson who after engine issues at Taupo in the last round put his old 289 engine in the Mustang to be able to compete with us and maintain his points lead in Class B.
For the NMC cars Shane qualified quickest with a 59.996 (very well done) followed by Kayton on 64.3 and then Paul on a 65.5.

Race 1
We started with 16 cars but unfortunately lost Warren in the blue SLR Torana on lap 2 with gearbox issues. Shane lead the field home with a fastest lap of 59.773 with Tony G the next NMC car 4th overall then Kayton who had a best lap of 63.6 and then Paul who managed to hold off Colin in the Corvette. Craig Horn in the red LJ Torana managed a personal best of 68.5 but engine concerns meant that this would be the last we saw of him for the day.

Race 2
The overall numbers were down to 14 for this race but all managed to finish. Colin in the Corvette who had been working on the car and with new tyres managed to lead the field home from Tony G and Shane who managed another slightly better lap time of 59.698 Paul was fourth just keeping Kayton behind him at the flag by about a tenth of a second.

Race 3
Another handicap which was again won by Colin this time with Kayton 2nd and Paul 3rd this time just managing to hold Tony off at the flag by 3 tenths of a second. Shane had to retire on lap 2 after a tyre came apart at very high speed but fortunately managed to get the car stopped without too much damage.

The current standings are:

Class A 1st Colin Schischka 1815, 2nd Tony Galbraith 1277, 3rd Kayton Coughey 1255.
Class B 1st Chris Anderson 1685, 2nd Kevin Burke 1429 3rd Mike Oldham 848

Posted: Fri 06 Mar 2020